America’s Cup 2017: Britain suffer fourth consecutive defeat

Britain are competing for the right to take on holders USA in the America’s Cup proper, which takes place over 17-18 and 24-27 June
35th America’s Cup in Bermuda
Qualifiers: 26 May-3 June Play-offs: 4-8 June & 10-12 June America’s Cup: 17-18 & 24-27 June
Race coverage: Watch highlights on BBC Two, Red Button, Connected TVs, online and BBC Sport app from 11 June.

Great Britain suffered a fourth consecutive defeat in the America’s Cup Qualifiers on the third day of racing in Bermuda.

The six-man British crew were beaten by France, who sealed a 53-second win.

Having won their opener before losing race two on Saturday, Ben Ainslie’s Land Rover BAR were also defeated by defending champions Oracle Team USA and Emirates Team New Zealand on Sunday.

Britain began Monday joint second in the table, but now slip down to third.


America’s Cup standings
Team Wins Losses Total points
United States* 4 1 5
New Zealand 4 1 4
Great Britain* 1 4 3
Sweden 3 3 2
France 2 3 2
Japan 2 3 2

*Land Rover BAR started the qualifiers with two points and Oracle Team USA with one point after finishing first and second respectively in the 2015-16 America’s Cup World Series.

**The top four teams progress to the next round

What about the rest of the field?

New Zealand beat Sweden in a dramatic second race on Monday after nine lead changes, while France followed victory over Britain with defeat by SoftBank Team Japan in race three.

France, Japan and Sweden are all just one point behind Britain, who started the qualifiers with a two-point advantage for winning the America’s Cup World Series.

How it works

Ainslie steered his Portsmouth-based team to victory in the 2015-16 America’s Cup World Series, a result which earned two points for the qualifying series.

Each team will race each other twice in the qualifiers, scoring one point per win, with the top four teams progressing to the challenger round.

Land Rover BAR start the qualifiers with two points and Oracle Team USA with one point after finishing first and second respectively in the 2015-16 America’s Cup World Series.

The top four challengers are split into two best-of-five semi-finals from 4 June, with the winners competing in the final for the right to take on holders Oracle Team USA – who are also taking part in the qualifiers – in the actual America’s Cup matches.

The first to seven points wins the America’s Cup, or the Auld Mug as the trophy is known, with a possible 13 races to be sailed on 17-18 and 24-27 June.

The America’s Cup, the oldest competition in international sport, was first raced in 1851 around the Isle of Wight and has only been won by four nations.

America’s Cup teams
Country Name Helmsman
United States Oracle Team USA Jimmy Spithill
Sweden Artemis Racing Nathan Outteridge
New Zealand Emirates Team New Zealand Peter Burling
France Groupama Team France Franck Cammas
Great Britain Land Rover BAR Ben Ainslie
Japan Softbank Team Japan Dean Barker


Tuesday, 30 May

America’s Cup Qualifiers – round robin 2

Racing from 18:00-19:30 BST

Race 1 – New Zealand v Sweden, Race 2 – France v USA, Race 3 – Sweden v Great Britain

Full schedule